top of page
  • Tristan Bennett

Sainsbury's Plant Pioneers No Chicken Kiev Review

Updated: Jun 2, 2021

Vegetarian Kievs are nothing new, but the difference here is that these ones from Sainsbury's plant pioneer range are vegan.


This means that, quite obviously, the often found garlic butter centre is not present. What Sainsbury's have put in place instead is a garlic oil, and for this reviewer it does not really work. Perhaps this is because I am used to a garlic butter, but I did not really like the taste. I should point out that the opinion of others was that it is fine, however not for me. It is edible, but personally not something I wish to eat again.


The actual 'meat' of the Kiev is made from seitan and pea protein. While nothing new, seitan is becoming more mainstream. This is not my favourite product consisting of it, but it tastes fine for a quick and easy addition to a mid-week meal.


Two come in a box and they are to be found in the fridge section of Sainsbury's, or online of course.



15 views0 comments

コメント


bottom of page