top of page
  • Tristan Bennett

NoMeat Company No Bull Vegan Wellington Review

Updated: May 24, 2021


The NoMeat Company's range of products is growing and proving popular. I'm a fan of their vegan pasties and vegan sausage rolls, so my hopes were high for this vegan wellington.


Its quite a weighty thing at 560g in the box (which has no plastic inside) and its appearance I have no quibble with. Neither do I have an issue with the taste of the pastry.


The wellington filling consists of two parts. The 'meat' and what it is topped with, an onion chutney. Now I like an onion chutney very much, however eaten with a roast dinner it tastes wrong. It also over powers the rest of the wellington.


The 'meat part is better than the chutney, but even here the texture is a bit odd. It also isn't at flavoured as other vegan food. It is not horrible, let's be clear, but there is room for improvement.


If you're after a relatively inexpensive option for a vegan roast this may be a consideration of yours. Its far from the worst thing I have eaten, but there are other more flavoursome alternatives available.






Comments


bottom of page