top of page
  • Tristan Bennett

Sainsbury's Plant Pioneers No Steak Bake Review

Updated: Jun 2, 2021

Seasoning is often heard of in cooking. On television especially, 'add seasoning', and in recipes, 'add seasoning'. Its something I often ignore, it reduces salt levels after all, and means I cannot put so much pepper in that it over powers everything else I have done.


Of course I don't always ignore it, and some pre-made food really doesn't, and overpowers everything with a black pepper taste.


Vegan and vegetarian pasties are often found to be this way, such as the Ginsters Quorn one, which is annoying. Holland and Barrett used to do an excellent range which was not over seasoned but sadly they were discontinued a while ago.


So now onto this offering from Sainsbury's. I was looking forward to it as one of my favourites from the aforementioned Holland and Barratt range was their vegan steak bake.


It says on the packet "why not serve with mash and peas", and my question is why would you? I don't think this sort of thing is suited to proper meals, I'd make a pie instead, however for lunch on the go this makes sense.


The pastry is good and flaky, without being greasy. It is fragile, so so careful not to break it in your bag. I tried it cold while out, but it can be heated too.


To go back to the start of this review, some pastry products are well over seasoned. This is not, thankfully. In fact, its been done well, and has a nice gravy to go with it. The 'meat' is seitan and mushroom, but it has been flavoured well to taste like not like the ingredients within.


I think this is a good product. It genuinely tastes good, and different to others. An excellent effort by Sainsbury's.


Source: Sainsbury's

Comments


bottom of page