top of page
  • Tristan Bennett

This Isn't Chicken Review

This is a company founded by individuals formally of the meat industry. They say how a lot of time has been put into the development of This and its products, so expectations are high.


This review is covering both variations of their "chicken" product, salt and pepper, and dark soy and garlic. They are the same base product, just flavoured differetly.


First thing to note is that this does not lack protein, with of over 20g of it per 100g of product.


The packaging proudly boasts the environmental benefits of This, and it is clear what they are, mimicking chicken. They are pieces, so don't expect a roast, but ideal for salads, curries, stews and the like.


The cooking directions are to fry, so I did. Trying the salt and black pepper one first, I found it very dry. It probably wouldn't be bad in a stew, or at least in something, but as is I did find too dry. Even with a bit of mayonnaise and spinach in bread, I did not find it too enjoyable. The taste however is fine, not bad, and there is definitely room to flavour them yourself, as I found I could hardly taste the salt and pepper.


Next up were the soy version, and I can't say I find favourably of these. You have to be a big fan of soy sauce to like these, as I think there is too much on them. A bit less, maybe they would be better. The better solution is likely to be to but the salt and pepper ones, and add soy as you see fit, so that they can be you taste. This is what I would do if making a vegan chicken Chow Mien for instance.


I have eaten worse, and these aren't terrible. I did not like the soy version, but the salt and pepper, while dry taste fine, and eaten within a dish would be much better.



Picture: Morrisons


Picture: Morrisons






33 views0 comments

コメント


bottom of page