top of page
  • Tristan Bennett

Recipe Review: Sweet Potato Cakes with Poached Eggs

Updated: May 24, 2021



Recipe on BBC's Good Food Website:

https://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/sweet-potato-harissa-cakes-poached-eggs


This recipe is great for brunch and lunch. Clearly, they are vegetarian not vegan, owing to the egg.


One thing I like to know is where my food comes from. I try to buy British wherever possible. The eggs I chose were those of Clarence Court, Burford Browns. This company produces very good quality eggs, and are supporters of Slow Food UK.


A confession is to be made here, I did not follow the recipe exactly. Innovation however is not a sin.


I ate without the Greek Yoghurt, and was not strict with the measurements, going instead by what seemed right. The strategy fortunately paid off.


Another thing I ignored, as it is something I do not like to do, is bond only with egg whites, instead I used one, not four whole egg (white and yolk) to bond, and this worked perfectly. As the yolk is the best tasting and most nutritional part of the egg, why on earth would you want to be rid of it anyway?


The recipe for the sweet potato cakes is easy to follow, and easy to conduct. It does not take much skill, but the results are rewarding.


Harissa is very strong so if its the first time you are cooking with it, you may desire to use a bit less otherwise it will be overbearing. It is a necessary flavour to these cakes however, so don't leave it out.


The flour and egg bond the ingredients without any trouble, and they are easy to shape. I cooked three in a pan at a time, in olive oil, and had no issues.


The taste is very good, and they go well with poached eggs. The parsley adds a welcome splash of colour, and all the flavours go well together. A very nice recipe worth a try.


The pictures are of my efforts.




7 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page